Turku-based Sum of Seven began as a fun project among friends but has grown into a powerhouse of energetic live performances and inspiring music. The musical mission has remained the same from the beginning. The goal is to create inspiring music that combines captivating riffs, tasty solos, and beautiful melodies with progressive storytelling. The lyrics focus on the intricacies of the mind. Stylistically, the band shares similarities with British bands Haken and Threshold as well as Danish-Swedish Vola.

For the first few years, the band operated under the surface with a driving force of passion to play and compose music with like-minded friends. However, the desire to spread their wings on bigger stages gradually grew. Their debut release in 2015 was made without significant ambitions but immediately garnered interest within the scene. The album received excellent reviews and caught the attention of Inverse Records.

The second full-length album, ”Time is Not On Your Side,” released in 2019 through Inverse Records, was featured for review in Prog, the world’s largest progressive rock magazine, and received considerable attention domestically as well. Encouraged by this, the band began planning for bigger endeavors, but unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic and the departure of vocalist Timo Mustonen at that critical moment interrupted their momentum.

In 2020, the band welcomed Marko Loukamaa as their new frontman. The singles released during and after the pandemic with Marko received great acclaim. With Marko at the helm, the band sounds better than ever, boasting a growing global fanbase and a burning desire to rise as a prominent name in the prog scene. Alongside Marko, the band consists of guitarists Ari Lempinen and Harri Annala, bassist Miika Erkkilä, keyboardist Esa Lempinen, and drummer Rasmus Raassina. Currently, the band is in the process of writing a new concept album and seeking partners for future collaborations.